In All My Holy Mountain - Roger Garfitt

In All My Holy Mountain - Roger Garfitt

Roger Garfitt reads from his memoir ‘The Horseman’s Word’ and gives a live performance of ‘In All My Holy Mountain’, a celelbraton of the life and work of Mary Webb.

In a memoir as vivid and unpredictable as any novel, Roger Garfitt takes us into his confidence as he tries on different selves, from stable boy to jazz dancer, from Oxford dandy to Sixties drop-out. We see him on horseback with the Riding Master to the Kings of Portugal and in a beatnik pad with Redmond O’Hanlon.

In the opening set, TERESA MCCLEAN, Stamford’s second Poet Laureate, will give us word pictures of what we can’t actually see.

Tickets £8 (£7)

More..

  • Poetry Swaps

    Wed 11 Jul & Wed 19 Sep

    Join us for our regular poetry-exchange evening in the Cellar Bar. Top poets from Stamford and the surrounding...

  • The Carnival Band

    Thurs 28 Jun

    A CARNIVAL CALENDAR  Andy Watts, Giles Lewin, Jub and Steno Vitale From the riotous pre-Lent carnivals of m...

  • Andrew Motion’s prose memoir, In the Blood (2006), was widely acclaimed, praised as ‘an act of magical retriev...

  • Starting with Stravinsky, diving back to the Medieval, motoring with Mozart (ign...

  • Pint of Poetry

    Wed 30 May, Wed 27 Jun, Wed 25 Jul, Wed 29 Aug, Wed 26 Sep, Wed 31 Oct, Wed 28 Nov & Wed 26 Dec

    Join us on the last Wednesday of each month for our live stand-up poetry evening in the Cellar Bar. Come along...

  • Described as “world class” by Humphrey Lyttelton, guitarist Pat McCarthy leads t...

  • Fairport Convention has been making great music for over fifty years. Credited with originating British folk-r...

  • echo

    Thurs 12 Jul

    BRICK BY BRICK Sarah Latto director echo explore music from the 15th century to the present day inspired by...

We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue