Liza Ferschtman and Martin Roscoe

Liza Ferschtman and Martin Roscoe

Liza Ferschtman is well known on the Continent as a concerto soloist and chamber musician. As a soloist she has played with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, the Rotterdam Philharmonic and many other orchestras in Europe, and as a chamber musician, she has played the complete Beethoven Violin Sonatas in the Concertgebouw. We also welcome back the acclaimed pianist, Martin Roscoe, famed as a concerto soloist, recitalist and chamber musician. He needs no introduction to a Stamford audience!

The evening will begin with a set of four short marches arranged for violin and piano from opera, ballet and a play, ending with Kreisler’s delightful and amusing Viennese march. Beethoven’s Sonata Op. 30 No. 2 begins in a mood of defiance against fate but works through to periods of stunning beauty and tranquility. Britten’s Suite Op. 6 is one of his early compositions, begun at the age of 21 during a spell in Vienna, and reflects that Viennese influence. Strauss’s Violin Sonata is also an early piece; in it he expresses his love for Pauline de Ahna whom he was eventually to marry six years later.


Book Tickets

Tickets £16.00

More in Live Shows...

We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue